How Much Auto Insurance Should I Carry?
Determining the amount of car insurance you carry should be an easy decision. Unfortunately, policies and laws can be confusing and assessing the appropriate amount of coverage for you and your family can be challenging. The State of Tennessee has a minimum insurance requirement and drivers must carry a liability policy on their vehicles. Liability insurance covers the damages caused by the at-fault driver, up to the limits of his or her policy.
Under Tennessee law, the person deemed at fault in an automobile accident is responsible for all damages. Tennessee’s Financial Responsibility Law offers protection for medical expenses and property damage inflicted upon the driver and passenger of other vehicles in the case of an at-fault accident.
Following are the minimum coverage requirements for Tennessee drivers (more drivers and owners have more coverage):
- $25,000 for one injury or death
- $50,000 for all injuries or deaths
- $15,000 for property damage for one accident
- In Tennessee, the insurance company doesn’t have to tell you their policy limits
Dedicated Morristown Personal Injury Attorneys
If you have been in a car accident, your car insurance policy is just as important as the insurance policy of the person that hit you and caused the accident. In fact, if the at-fault driver does not have insurance, then it will be critical that you have the appropriate uninsured motorist coverage. That is why it is important to have the dedicated representation of The Terry Law Firm.
Our Morristown car accident lawyers can identify the parties responsible for your injuries and help you hold them accountable. We will also make sure you recover all available insurance coverage, including benefits available under your own policy.
Additional Insurance Coverage to Consider
With the high costs of medical treatment and auto repairs, a serious accident can quickly consume the amounts on a minimum insurance policy. In that case, the insured at-fault driver may be held personally liable for any excesses. For that reason, many lawyers strongly recommend drivers not simply purchase the minimum level of insurance but get significantly higher coverage to protect their personal finances in the case of an accident.
Purchasing uninsured motorist insurance is also recommended. This type of insurance will help cover the medical expenses and repair costs in an accident with an uninsured motorist. This will also help provide for you if you are a victim of a hit and run accident.
Contact our Morristown personal injury lawyers now at (423) 586-5800 to schedule your free consultation.
If you have been involved in a car wreck case, there are generally three (3) avenues for payment of medical expenses.
- The first and most common method of payment is for persons who have been injured to pay for their medical care with their own health insurance. This does not create any problems and, in fact, most of the time this is what we recommend at The Terry Law Firm.
- Persons involved in car wreck cases can use something referred to as “med pay” to pay for some of their medical bills associated with their car wreck case. “Med pay” coverage is coverage afforded by your automobile insurance to pay for injuries sustained in the car wreck.
- Occasionally, persons will be on the job working when they are injured in a car wreck. In these circumstances, sometimes it is best to use workers’ compensation to pay for your injuries sustained in a car wreck.
If one of these methods is not available to you, contact The Terry Law Firm at our Morristown, Greeneville, or Sevierville office.
Under Tennessee law, insurance carriers cannot raise your insurance as a result of a person utilizing their uninsured motorist coverage. Tennessee law states explicitly that if you are in an accident that is no fault of your own, your insurance carrier cannot raise your insurance rates due to your use of uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage that you purchased.