Please Note: We do not help get points taken off your driving record in Tennesee, however, we can refer you to the people who can help.
What Is the Point System Used for?
All Tennessee drivers with a valid driver’s license must adhere to the Tennessee point system used to ensure at-risk drivers are closely monitored. Under the point system, points are added to your driving record for convictions of moving violations and accidents. The goal of the system is “to impress upon drivers the importance of complying with traffic laws and regulations.”
What Happens If I Accumulate Points?
The number of points on Tennessee drivers’ records is monitored by the Driver Improvement Section of the Tennessee Department of Safety. As you accumulate points, you risk suspension of your driver’s license. If you accumulate a total of 6 points within 12 months, the department will send you a point accumulation advisory. If you accumulate 12 or more points in 12 months, your driving privilege may be suspended.
The number of points added to your driving record depends on the conviction. Accumulating points is easier than you may think. One ticket for speeding 16 to 25 mph above the speed limit will add four points to your license. More serious convictions, such as reckless driving and reckless endangerment carry even more points.
Preventing License Suspension
There are steps drivers can take to prevent the suspension of their license, with some exceptions. Anyone with 12 points can request a hearing to determine what method or action is necessary to correct and improve poor driving habits.
The options include for correcting poor driving habits include:
- Driving courses
- Placing necessary restrictions on the licensee
Experienced Morristown Personal Injury Lawyers on Your Side
When driving on the highways of Tennessee, you should stay alert and be a good defensive driver. But if you are involved in a serious accident due to the carelessness of another driver, our personal injury attorneys at The Terry Law Firm in Morristown, Tennessee, will aggressively represent you to recover full compensation for your injuries.
Call us at (423) 586-5800 to learn more and to schedule your free consultation.
If you have been involved in a car wreck case, there are generally three (3) avenues for payment of medical expenses.
- The first and most common method of payment is for persons who have been injured to pay for their medical care with their own health insurance. This does not create any problems and, in fact, most of the time this is what we recommend at The Terry Law Firm.
- Persons involved in car wreck cases can use something referred to as “med pay” to pay for some of their medical bills associated with their car wreck case. “Med pay” coverage is coverage afforded by your automobile insurance to pay for injuries sustained in the car wreck.
- Occasionally, persons will be on the job working when they are injured in a car wreck. In these circumstances, sometimes it is best to use workers’ compensation to pay for your injuries sustained in a car wreck.
If one of these methods is not available to you, contact The Terry Law Firm at our Morristown, Greeneville, or Sevierville office.
Under Tennessee law, insurance carriers cannot raise your insurance as a result of a person utilizing their uninsured motorist coverage. Tennessee law states explicitly that if you are in an accident that is no fault of your own, your insurance carrier cannot raise your insurance rates due to your use of uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage that you purchased.