Cocke County, TN

Cocke County, Tennessee lies in an enchanting region of the Great Smoky Mountains. Renowned for inspiring the “ Christy” novels and television series, Cocke County embodies the historical events, locales and residents of the fictional Cutter Gap. The cities and towns of Cosby, Del Rio, Hartford, Newport and Parrottsville comprise Cocke County. Cocke County, whose population was 33,565 at the time of the 2000 Census, occupies a portion of the Knoxville- Sevierville- La Follette Combined Statistical Area.

If you’re heading to court in Cocke County, you should know that Tennessee’s legal system includes four trial courts: the Circuit Courts, which, as courts of general jurisdiction handle civil and criminal matters and hear appeals from the courts with limited jurisdiction; the Chancery Courts, which exclusively hear civil cases and generally handle cases that fall outside the traditional common-law actions; the Criminal Courts, located in 13 of TN’s 31 judicial districts, which serve as relief for heavy caseloads in other courts, hearing criminal cases and misdemeanor appeals from the lower courts; and the Probate Court, which hears individual estate cases but only operates in a few districts. Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure are readily available to the public.

If you have a personal injury case in Tennessee, your claim will be heard in civil court. This Self-Help section of the TN Courts website will tell you what to expect in court. Once you’ve gone through a trial, you may have the right to appeal your personal injury case to the state’s Appeals Court or the Supreme Court. The Tennessee Court of Appeals and the Tennessee Supreme Court both convene in the cities of Jackson, Knoxville and Nashville, as required by the Tennessee State Constitution.

Cosby, population 5,201, affords visitors a scenic route along the I-40 route to Gatlinburg. This serene TN community, home to the Cosby Ramp Festival, was originally a fertile hunting ground for the Cherokee Indians. Once settled, Cosby’s economy relied on farming, lumber mills and moonshine running. Cosby lies within the northeastern portion of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, providing dining establishments, cabins, campground facilities and various additional lodging options for park visitors.

Surrounded by the majestic Appalachian Mountains, Del Rio has a population of 2,138 citizens. Like many other communities in the region, moonshine played a role in Del Rio’s past. This small, unincorporated town was the basis of “El Pano,” the fictional town in the “ Christy” novels.

Hartford rests at the northeastern point of the Great Smoky Mountains within the boundaries of the Cherokee National Forest. Located along the Pigeon River, Hartford remains a popular destination for whitewater rafting enthusiasts. Hartford, TN’s easternmost town found along Interstate 40, is home to 814 residents.

Newport, the seat of Cocke County, lies along the banks of the Pigeon River, at the Foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains. Once home to such notable residents as Kiffin Yates Rockwell and Marshall R. Teague, this community maintains a strong link to its past. Historical structures still standing in Newport include Beechwood Hall, Cocke County Courthouse and the O’Dell House. Parrottsville, population 207, is a tiny rural community, made up of less than half a square mile.

Cocke County, Tennessee nestles in the stunning Appalachian region with a panoramic backdrop of the Great Smokies. The communities of Cocke County offer residents a blend of history and culture, as well as an enviable place to call home.

Super Lawyers

Office Locations

The Terry Law Firm

The Terry Law Firm
918 W 1st North Street
Morristown, TN 37814

Morristown Law Office Map

The Terry Law Firm
3465 E Andrew Johnson Hwy.
Greeneville, TN 37745

Greeneville Law Office Map

The Terry Law Firm
2827 W. Andrew Johnson Hwy.
Morristown, TN 37814

Morristown Law Office Map

Toll Free: 800-788-0630
Local: 423-200-4977